Minutes of the Regular Meeting Hay Springs Public School District #3, April 13, 2015

The Board of Education of Hay Springs Public Schools District #3 held its regular meeting on April 13, 2015 at the school cafeteria. Notice of the said meeting was published in the March 25, 2015 edition of the Sheridan County Journal Star. Called to order at 8:32 p.m. by President Hunzeker. Matt Anderson, Mike Hunzeker, Brenda Johnson, and Marilyn Reed. Superintendent Pummel was also present. All motions received unanimous approval unless otherwise noted. A motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Anderson to excuse Langford and Kearns’ absences. (Kearns arrived at 8:36pm) Mr. Pummel reviewed legislative bills pertaining to school districts that are currently on the floor. During the awards ceremonies there will be a recognition of accomplishments due to the tremendous growth and success the district has had. We attended both CSC Scholastic Day and Quiz Bowl competitions in which the students earned top rankings. We received 2nd in our division at scholastic day. Daniel Hunzeker and Brittany Ferguson received awards at All State Honor Band. Shane Vifquain received an award for his Duck Stamp entry; Haley Summers, Chris Adams, and Katrena Ryan received Honorable Mention. Marx reported that several more scholarships have been awarded to students. Scholarship opportunities continue to come in. WNCC rep spoke to Sophomores about college readiness. Marx reported that several summer camp opportunities will be available. Brochures will go out before the last day of school. Summer School teachers are set and we are awaiting final grades to determine final numbers. A motion was made by Reed and seconded by Johnson to approve the minutes of the March 9, 2015 regular board meeting as presented. A motion was made by Reed and seconded by Kearns to approve the agenda of the April 13, 2015 meeting. The completed questionnaires were presented to the board. Lister Sage report: The floors will be refinished as late in June as we could get them scheduled. There are no openings for July. The broken door leading into the gym will be repaired. A motion was made by Reed and seconded by Anderson to approve the 2015-2016 contracts for all returning teachers. A motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Kearns to approve with regret the resignation of Joan Raymer. A motion was made by Kearns and seconded by Reed to approve the 2015-2016 teaching contract for Jessica Mintken. A motion was made by Reed and seconded by Johnson to approve Priority 1 except the carpet and roof repair. The board will take a tour of the building and the maintenance plan will be on the May agenda for another review. NSAA guidelines have been researched. Craig Housh and Anderson presented on the options for lighting, pole placements, and wiring. We are moving forward with the soil study and engineering plans for four poles versus six. A motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Kearns to approve the purchase of the student laptops as presented in the technology plan. A motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Kearns to approve the bills and payroll as presented. The meeting adjourned at 9:49 p.m. on a motion by Johnson and second by Anderson.

The following bills and payroll were approved: Payroll $74,739.98; AFLAC $1,454.73; Alliance Medical Clinic $185.00; American Funds $3,766.00; AS Central Services $236.79; Bingham Projects $71.00; Blue Cross/Blue Shield $25,567.59; Chadron Community Hospital $226.64; Chadron Glass $4,250.00; CIC $5,130.00; CinDesign $34.00; Circa $209.00; Credit Management Services $30.75; CSC Conferencing $112.00; Culligan $6.30; EMC $556.00; ESU #13 $4,468.22; Frontier $495.65; Haggerty’s $17.89; Hansen’s Locksmithing $5,066.30; HARRIS $18,500.00; Hay Springs Lumber $1,642.55; Hay Springs Public School $275.00; Hay Springs Water $178.68; HSPS - Cash Desktop $4,873.93; HSPS - Hot Lunch $1,054.10; HSPS - Hot Lunch $1,092.71; Ideal $31.53; Jostens $136.67; KONE $1,510.36; Lister Sage Community Operation Acct. $420.00; Lister-Sage $2,944.90; NAPA $13.01; NASB $2,308.00; NCSA $135.00; NE Dept. of Revenue $3,175.42; NE Retirement Systems $22,497.57; NPPD $2,672.34; NWEA $2,037.50; Pioneer Manor $334.38; Protex Central $443.80; Quill $1,000.38; Region I OHD $682.57; Sackers $587.45; Sandhills News $51.50; Security First Bank - 125 Plan $1,610.34; Security First Bank - Federal $28,429.47; Security First Bank - Hay Springs $1,939.68; Security First Bank - Rapid City $983.13; Source Gas $1,091.19; The Lampo Group $714.99; United States Welding $152.97; WestCo $429.79; Xerox $1,251.62.

Published: May 20, 2015