Minutes of the Regular Meeting Hay Springs Public School District #3, February 9, 2015

The Board of Education of Hay Springs Public Schools District #3 held its regular meeting on February 9, 2015 at the school cafeteria. Notice of the said meeting was published in the January 7, 2015 edition of the Sheridan County Journal Star. Called to order at 7:02 p.m. by President Hunzeker. Matt Anderson, Mike Hunzeker, Miriam Kearnsand Marilyn Reed. Superintendent Pummel was also present. All motions received unanimous approval unless otherwise noted. A motion was made by Reed and seconded by Anderson to excuse the absences of Langford and Johnson. Johnson arrived at 7:06 p.m. Mr. Pummel reviewed legislative bills pertaining to school districts that are currently on the floor. Our school districts improvement over the last five years has been recognized in a legislative resolution drafted by Senator Davis. The resolution has been published on our website and Facebook page. The special meeting with NASB Jim Luebbe was postponed to a date yet to be determined. Mr. Pummel will contact the board with possible dates. Mrs. Houser and Mrs. Shimek have required the Juniors and Seniors to right an essay about their future plans after high school. Dave George gave a presentation on essay writing particularly for scholarship applications. Seth Nowak reported that he felt Mr. George’s presentation was very beneficial. Marx is continually updating the scholarship listing on the school website. A “Counselor’s Desk” page has also been implemented on the school site. Mrs. Houser attended the CSC Honor Band concert and was very impressed with the performances. Daniel Hunzeker and Brittany Ferguson were chosen to attend the Class D State Honor Band to be held in Kearney. Panhandle Conference Music contest will be hosted in Hay Springs on April 17. Beth Jungck will be directing an all school play “Check Please”. Performances will be at the end of April. District wrestling will be Hemingford – 5 participants have the potential of qualifying for state this year. Houser will bring sample student participation agreements to the March board meeting. There were no public comments. Board Comments - Reed: The staff and students should be commended for their hard work and dedication towards the tremendous improvement the district has made in the last years. A motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Kearns to approve the minutes of the January 12, 2015 regular board meeting and the January 26, 2015 special board meeting with corrections. A motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Reed to approve the agenda of the February 9, 2015 meeting. Houser presented the board with the National Honor Society by-laws. National Honor Society is a faculty sponsored organization.Hay Springs Public School plans to participate in the Food Bank of the Heartland Back Pack Program beginning next school year. This program provides snacks and weekend meals to those students/families that qualify. Mr. Pummel is awaiting a return phone call from the state coordinator of this program. A questionnaire for parents regarding bus transportation will be drawn up by Pummel and Hunzeker. No motion. Hunzeker reported that he and Larel Reimann have checked the sound system and when the equipment is set properly the system works well. The school will order a new mic for the sound system. February 15th is the deadline to renew Lister membership – non-renewed keys will be turned off by the end of February. A motion was made by Reed and seconded by Anderson to approve the purchase agreement reflecting the donation by Jerry and Krystyn Turman of the house at 115 N Miller Street, Hay Springs. A motion was made by Reed and seconded by Anderson to appoint Houser, Marx, and Kearns as the Americanism Committee members for the 14-15 school year – Kearns abstained. A motion was made by Reed and seconded by Kearns to appointment the Superintendent as the Compliance Coordinator. A motion was made by Anderson and seconded by Kearns to approve the bills and payroll as presented. (Reed recognized for the record that her son Austin Reed is receiving payment from the school district as compensation for contract labor.) 

A motion was made by Anderson and seconded by Kearns to go into executive session at 8:27 p.m. to discuss negotiations. Hunzeker repeated the motion. A motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Kearns to return to open session at 8:50 p.m. A motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Anderson to approve the 2015-2018 negotiated agreement as presented. The meeting adjourned at 8:56 p.m. on a motion by Johnson and second by Kearns. The following bills and payroll were approved: 

Payroll $74,733.21; AFLAC $1,454.73; American Funds $3,750.46; AS Central Services $236.79; Austin Reed $150.00; BE Publishing $1,024.80; Bingham Projects $1,422.96; Blue Cross/Blue Shield $25,838.79; Chadron Community Hospital $266.22; Credit Management Services $30.75; Culligan $11.50; EMC $47,752.00; ESU #13 $4,468.22; Follett $29.15; Frontier $371.18; Harris $2,734.89; Hay Springs Public School $275.00; Hay Springs Water $83.71; Hencey Plumbing $681.80; HSPS - Cash Desktop $5,681.52; HSPS - Hot Lunch $1,272.00; HSPS - Hot Lunch $1,234.40; Ideal $40.68; Jerry & Krystyn Turman $63,000.00; JWPepper $802.80; Lister Sage Community Operation Acct. $420.00; Mansfield $12,595.65; McGraw Hill $74.92; Morford’s Decorating $1,846.35; Nationwide Management Services $492.21; NE Dept. of Revenue $3,146.22; NE Retirement Systems $22,420.54; NewEgg Business $79.94; NPPD $3,514.90; Pioneer Manor $236.25; Quill $2,709.97; Sackers $329.03; Security First Bank - 125 Plan $1,610.34; Security First Bank - Federal $28,481.42; Security First Bank - Hay Springs $1,939.68; Security First Bank - Rapid City $983.13; Source Gas $3,184.15; SWANN $580.00; WestCo $880.40; Woodstock $12.87; Xerox $553.18; Young’s Repair $62.70.

Published: February 18, 2015