Minutes of the Regular Meeting HAY SPRINGS PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT #3, December 14, 2015

The Board of Education of Hay Springs Public Schools District #3 held its regular meeting on December 14, 2015 at the school cafeteria.  Notice of the said meeting was published in the November 25, 2015 edition of the Sheridan County Journal Star and on the school website. Called to order at 7:00 p.m. by President Hunzeker. Matt Anderson, Mike Hunzeker, Miriam Kearns, and Marilyn Reed. Superintendent Cline was also present. All motions received unanimous approval unless otherwise noted. A motion was made by Anderson and seconded by Kearns to excuse the absences of members Johnson and Langford. Supt Cline reviewed the safety and security plan review. EMC will be providing videos for required staff safety trainings. HSPS received a 3 (Great School) rating via AQuESTT. School year calendars were presented to the board for review. Sample I & III will be shared with the public for input. The 6th grade participation policy complies with NDE as approved last month. The number of enrolled participants must stay at 12. The Preschool evaluation was completed. State representatives are looking to come to the Panhandle to observe during statewide reading or writing tests possibly this spring or next fall. Kudrna reported that 25 teams are registered as 6-man football teams across the state including Hay Springs.  She is working on a deal with one of our suppliers to possibly purchase a new football field scoreboard. Hunzeker reported that Johnson is still concerned about wrestling schedules and times published on the school website. Reed recognized the hard work of the staff, students, and community in ranking highly via AQuESTT. A motion was made by Anderson and seconded by Reed to approve the minutes of the November 9, 2015 meeting minutes with the addition of executive session at 9:00 p.m. A motion was made by Reed and seconded by Kearns to approve the agenda of the December 14, 2015 meeting. Gene Peters will be looking at the outside lights at Lister-Sage. The committee is still working on the gym floor logo.  A motion was made by Reed and seconded by Kearns to continue to pay the premium for employee insurance coverage up to full family health/single dental for the 2016-2017 school year. A motion was made by Anderson and seconded by Kearns to approve the 2014-15 audit as presented. A motion was made by Reed and seconded by Anderson to approve the bills and payroll - $44,939.63 (bills) and $165,227.87 (payroll). A motion was made by Anderson and seconded by Reed to adjourn the meeting at 8:27 p.m. 

The following bills were approved: 

Abbott, Sandra L $15.00; Allen D Gross $409.00; B and C Steel $258.92; BE Publishing $999.00; Bingham Projects $45.00; Chadron Community Hospital $356.06; Chadron Hospital Rehab Department $121.60; Chadron Medical Clinic P.C. $222.00; CinDesign $78.00; Cline, Jason M $483.00; Contryman Associates $6,500.00; Culligan $17.25; Eagle Chevrolet $288.70; Educational Service Unit 13 $13,236.18; Farmer’s Coop $18.49; Frontier Service $720.95; GNMSS Alliance $172.00; Haggerty’s $32.17; Hay Springs Lumber Company $5,685.12; Hay Springs Water Department $362.98; Heiting, Kyli A $64.84; Hillyard $105.02; HSPS - Activity Fund $464.54; Ideal Linen Supply $152.98; KAPLAN $47.09; Kudrna, Linda M $609.50; Lister-Sage Community Center Operation Accoun $420.00; NE Association of School Boards $57.00; NE Council of Economic Education $5.00; Nebraska Dept of Labor $140.00; Nebraska Public Power Dist. $1,825.04; Protex Central $484.00; Quill Corporation $1,634.49; Reed, Austin $375.00; Region I OHD $625.73; Sacker’s $366.56; Sandhills News Inc $104.86; Security First Bank $1,939.68; SourceGas LLC $1,006.49; State of Nebraska - AS Central Services $464.26; United States Welding, Inc $260.07; Varvel, Raime M $126.79; Verizon Wireless $413.06; Westco $905.54; Western NE Community College $436.00; WPCI $156.50; Xerox Corporation - California $1,423.44; Young’s Repair $304.73.

Published: December 30, 2015