GRHS National Honor Society inducts 16 new members

GRHS National Honor Society inducts 16 new members

By Scott Bidroski

On Thursday, November 4 Gordon-Rushville High School  (GRHS) held their annual National Honor Society (NHS) induction at the school.

Sixteen students were inducted into the prestigious group in a ceremony held in the cafeteria.

The NHS is a nationwide organization for high school students in the United States and outlying territories, which consists of many chapters in high schools.

The selection to NHS is based on four criteria. They are scholarship (academic achievement), leadership, service, and character.

The NHS is a product of the 1919 National Association of Secondary School Principals convention, which was held in Omaha.

Mr. J.G. Masters, a principal at Omaha Central High School, made the proposal to have a national society formed, which would select members through a common criterion which is based in personal fortitude.

The chapter at GRHS proudly celebrated it’s 90th Anniversary this year by inducting 16 new members into it’s organization.

National Honor Society  Advisor Brooke Simmons recognizes the impact this organization can have on its members.

“National Honor Society encourages students to get involved in community service and act as student leaders within our school,” said Simmons.

“Being a member of National Honor Society is a reflection of the educational experience students receive at Gordon-Rushville High School,” she added.

The new members are Aliyah American Horse, Ellis Livingston, Brenna Haag, Sevanna DiPasquale-Berndt, Hadleigh Hoos, Reaghan Shultz, Ival Jones-Hazeldine, Stella Wegner, Tessa Hurlburt, Logan Slama, Beau Child, Anadia McKinney, Tristen Anderson, Jace Nelson, Carter Anderson, and Mya Reeves. 

These new inductees will join the 4 existing members to create the 2021 GRHS National Honor Society. The four returning members are Jacob Wellnitz, Eden Funk, Kiera Running Hawk, and Madison Petersen.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

back to top