Gordon-Rushville wrestling invite results

The Mustangs held their annual Gordon-Rushville wrestling invite on Saturday, Dec. 8, 2012, hosting 16 teams. The tournament started at 9 a.m. with JV matches, with varsity starting around 11.

Gordon-Rushville finished 6th as a team with 72.5 points, 1 first, 2 thirds and 2 fourths. Hay Springs finished 9th as a team with 47 points, 2 seconds, and 1 fourth.

Individual results:

At 113 pounds, the Mustangs’ Garrett Shadbolt pinned Tagg Petrak of Bennett County in 2:48 before losing to Keaton Gracey of Ainsworth 16-0. He then faced Zacharia Sanbrie of Mitchell in the semifinals where he lost 5-0.

At 120 pounds, the Mustangs’ Justin Hilliker was pinned by Trever Bukaske of Valentine in 1:30. After two byes, Justin faced Paul Watak of Chadron in the semifinals where he lost by fall in 0:39.

Hay Springs’ Levi Ray placed 2nd at 126 pounds, pinning Shane Phillips of Pine Ridge in 5:46 in the first round. He then pinned Thomas Harvey of Valentine in 0:57 before falling to Trace Strotheide of Chadron in the championship match in 0:28.

Also at 126 was Shane Child of Gordon-Rushville. Shane lost to Thomas Harvey of Valentine by fall in 2:48 before falling to Shane Phillips of Pine Ridge in 2:46.

At 132, the Mustangs’ Cody Darnell finished 4th, losing to Joe McNair of Ainsworth 9-2, before pinning Ethan Osnes of Valentine in 4:32 and beating Bennett County’s Tate Petrak by major decision 9-0. In the 3rd place match Cody again lost to Joe McNair, this time 6-2.

Hay Springs’ Jake Johnson also wrestled at 132, falling to Thomas McClure of Chadron in 3:01, and losing to Joe McNair by fall in 3:40.

At 138 pounds, Casey Glassgow of Gordon-Rushville finished 4th beating Chadron’s Tyler Reitz 7-6 before losing to Valentine’s Nate O’Kief 6-5 on a controversial last second score. Casey then beat Tanner Whitton of Mitchell 15-0 before losing to Sidney’s Nathaniel Votruba 4-3 for fourth place.

Also at 138 was Hay Springs’ Joey Johnson. Joey started off the tournament by pinning Tanner Whitton in 3:00 before falling to Bennett County’s Sam Ireland in 1:37. Joey then lost to Nathaniel Votruba 11-1.

At 145, Mustang Micah Scherbarth lost to Marcus Nelson of Valentine by fall in 0:58 before losing to Lane Riley of Sidney 7-4.

At 152, Mustang Taylor Hood fell to Willy Cogdill in 1:09 before falling to Kieron Rice of Ainsworth in 3:41.

At 160, Gordon-Rushville’s Tristan Tuma finished 3rd, falling to Colby Reisen of Chadron in the first round before pinning Hay Springs’ Kolten Marx in 0:39 and Nicholas Ormesher of Valentine in 2:13. In the third place match, Tristan pinned Tanner Wernsman of Sidney in 2:43.

Also at 160 was Hay Springs’ Kolten Marx. Kolten started the tournament with a loss to Gideon Monette of Mullen by fall in 5:57. He then fell to Mustang Tristan Tuma in 0:39.

At 170 pounds, Mustang Ken Graham and Hawk Jordan Houser faced off in the first and last match of the tournament. In their first meeting, Graham pinned Houser in 1:59, then fell to Valentine’s Colby Lamb in 1:59. After a bye, Ken again faced Jordan Houser, who had just pinned Wnabli Hamilton of Red Cloud to advance to the third place match. Graham again pinned Houser, this time in 0:41 to finish 3rd, with Jordan Houser finishing 4th.

At 182, Mustang Kendrick Vincent fell to Garrrett Sterkel of Mitchell in 1:44 before falling to Jake Fulton of Valentine in 0:48.

Thomas Sandoz was champion at 195 pounds, pinning Braydon Weideman of Mitchell in 1:17 before pinning Cory Assarson of Valentine in 4:41 in a tough championship match.

Also at 195 was Hay Springs’ Riley Abbott. Riley fell to Braydon Weideman in 0:44 before falling to Matt Skinner of Ogallala in 1:35.

Stevin Horrocks of Hay Springs finished 2nd at 220 pounds, pinning Phil Zimga of Little Wound in 1:59, then pinning Spencer Rein of Mitchell in 2:39. In the championship match, Stevin fell to tournament Oustanding Wrestler, Trent Osnes of Valentine in 0:45 to take second on the day.

At 285, Mustang Brice Stangle fell to Vinny Ross of Perkins County in 0:33, then fell to Blaine Finney of Ainsworth in 1:40.

For hundreds of photos and hours of video from the tournament, visit www.sheridancountyjournalstar.net

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

back to top